The ARLO Team


ARLO has been developed by the collaborative efforts of teams of researchers at the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign and the University of Texas at Austin.

Team members have included:

  • Loretta Auvil
  • Tony Borries
  • Daniel Carter
  • Tanya Clement
  • Bill Cochran
  • Oliver Croomes
  • David Enstrom
  • Ben Kamen
  • Steve McLaughlin
  • Surangi Punyasena
  • David Tcheng



Initial seed funding for ARLO came from UIUC, and subsequently from the railroad industry to study impacts of increased rail traffic on bird singing behavior and from UIUC to automate the classification of pollen grains.

Current funding is provided by National Endowment for the Humanities and Institute of Museum and Library Services.